Refugee Talent & Humanitarian Award 2017

Refugee Talent received the ‘‘2017 Humanitarian Award for Outstanding Achievement in Business“, presented jointly by NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors (STARTTS) & Refugee Council of Australia at the NSW launch of Refugee Week 2017 on 16 June 2017.  Refugee Week (June 18, 2017 – June 24, 2017) is run every year to raise awareness about the issues affecting refugees and celebrate positive contributions made by refugees to Australian society.

Every year STARTTS holds the Humanitarian Awards to acknowledge and thank those people who have made an exceptional positive contribution towards refugee issues in NSW. Individuals and organisations in various fields that are doing outstanding work to support refugees are eligible for the Awards. Over the years, the Humanitarian Awards have honoured community leaders, youth workers, lawyers, journalists, teachers and many more – each of them making an incredible contribution to improving the lives of refugees.

2017 Humanitarian Awards Winners by Category

  • Best Project – African Women’s Group
  • Business – Refugee Talent
  • Government/Legal – RACS
  • Media – Behrouz Boochani
  • Refugee Community Worker (A former refugee working on refugee issues with their own or other refugee communities, in either a paid or unpaid position) – Sujan Selven
  • Refugee Supporter (A member of the broader Australian community, of any background, supporting and assisting refugees in any capacity, in either a paid or unpaid position) – Isobel Blomfield
  • Rural and Regional (Organisations or individuals working in regional areas of NSW to assist refugees) – Kerrie O’Connell
  • Schools (Schools, universities and other educational institutions, or individuals working at such institutions, who assist former refugees by breaking down barriers to education) – Janene Annables
  • Sports – Said Agha Jafari (Sadat Welfare & Sports Association)
  • Youth ( A young person aged 12-25 of refugee background making an outstanding contribution to Australian society in their chosen field) – Jordan Ablett

CONGRATULATIONS to the other Category winners!!